The 1st Liaison Professor Assembly held in University of Toyama

On November 24, 2022, University of Toyama(UT) held the 1st Liaison Professor Assembly at the conference room in Kuroda Hall.

UT launched the scheme of the Liaison Professor as part of our strategy of developing and strengthening global network this year. The scheme is to confer the title, ‘University of Toyama Liaison Professor’ to UT alumni etc. who are mainly working at overseas institutions as academic staff or researchers and will contribute to the globalization of UT by building and expanding the international network of UT through various activities related to international exchange.

15 Liaison Professors were appointed this year and 6 of them from Bangladesh, Cameroon, Indonesia, and Thailand were invited to join the first assembly.

About 40 people, including faculty, staff, and students interested in international collaboration attended the assembly. After making an opening address by President Saito and a keynote speech by Dr. Ikeda, the Executive Vice President for International Affairs, each Liaison Professor gave a presentation on activities related to exchange and collaboration with UT. In the discussion that followed, it took place a lively exchange of opinions on specific possibilities for collaboration between UT and each institution, making the assembly a meaningful opportunity for the further globalization of UT.

President Saito making an opening address

Group photo of assembly attendees
First row, from left to right:
Dr. Hayakawa, Director of the Institute of Natural Medicine
Dr. Waiwut Pornthip, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Ubon Ratchathani University, Thailand
Dr. Chulikhit Yaowared, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Khon Kaen University, Thailand
Dr. Subehan Ambo Lallo, Vice Rector of Hasanuddin University, Indonesia
President Saito
Dr. Ikeda, Executive Vice President for International Affairs
Dr. Fantong Wilson Yetoh, Research Director of Institute of Geological and Mining Research, Cameroon
Dr. Roy Andreas, Faculty of Mathematic and Natural Sciences, Jenderal Soedirman University, Indonesia
Dr. Nahar Mst Shamsun Miwa, Eurofins Earth Consulting Co. Ltd.,Toyama/Bangladesh
Dr. ZHANG Jing, Assistant to the President