Brief introduction of the University of Toyama

The University of Toyama is located in Toyama City and Takaoka City in Toyama Prefecture, which is located on the West coast, in the center of Japan. Toyama Prefecture is a local district with changes of the seasons where the Tateyama mountain range is in the south and Toyama Bay, on the Sea of Japan, to the north.

The University of Toyama is a university comprised of 3 former national universities; Toyama University (founded in 1949), Toyama Medical and Pharmaceutical University (founded in 1975) and Takaoka National College (founded in 1983) were integrated in October 2005. This integrated university houses 9 schools, 8 graduate schools, the University Laboratory, Hospital, and Library, and 12 institutes such as the Center for International Education and Research. There are approximately 9,300 students (including 320 international students) studying at the university.

The University of Toyama has agreements of cooperative science exchange, with universities in the United States, Britain, India, Egypt, Australia, Thailand, South Korea, China, Brazil, Malaysia, and Russia. The International Center conducts a 6-month Japanese education program prior to their entering graduate school, offers extra-curricular Japanese training courses, and gives advice on academic and daily life.